Linking Canada's Capitals


New Brunswick
Photo credit: Fredericton City Hall

City of Fredericton

Fredericton is the capital of the province of New Brunswick and is home to over 56,224 residents. An important cultural, artistic, and educational centre for the province, Fredericton is home to two universities, the New Brunswick College of Craft & Design, and cultural institutions such as the Beaverbrook Art Gallery, the York Sunbury Museum, and The Playhouse—a performing arts venue.

Fredericton’s history goes back thousands of years. Originally home to the Wolastogiyik People, the French and British followed. Today, this scenic bend on the river has welcomed people from around the world to our midst.

Named New Brunswick’s Capital in 1785, Fredericton was incorporated as a city on March 30, 1848, by an Act of the Provincial Legislature. 175 years later, we pause to celebrate that milestone, along with all the history that went before.

While there may be other recognitions during the year, the focus of celebrations for Fredericton 175+ will be August 10-20, 2023! Many free community activities will be happening during this time, including live music, outdoor dances, arts & cultural experiences, and much more.

Please visit the Fredericton Capital Region website for updates and stories about Fredericton’s history

For more information please visit:

Local Weather

Photos of Fredericton

Fredericton - Beaverbrook Art Gallery - Canadian Capital Cities Organization
Beaverbrook Art Gallery
Fredericton - Legislative Assembly Building - Canadian Capital Cities Organization
Legislative Assembly Building